Mind in the gutter

“Mind in the Gutter” is the name Dotmasters gave this exhibition. He evokes for him dubious intentions, ambiguous actions, all these unsavory and yet jubilant things. Faithful to the vandal and provocative essence of urban art, this title captures the state of mind of the artist, who, jovial and lucid, enjoys taboos, contradictions, new gods and the absurdity of our contemporary lifestyles.

The exhibition offers several levels of reading: one can appreciate it as a pop, offbeat and impertinent visual experience and read an ironic critique of today’s society. Dotmasters develops the concept of “high-end waste” with brass sculptures of chanel paper bags. Through this realization, he takes note, reinforces and plays on the ambiguity between marketing and works of art, between single piece and disposable goods, between aesthetic value and commercial production.

Second theme dear to the artist, rebellious and cheeky cherubim populate the works of Dotmasters. Made from photographs of her nieces, nephews and friends, these stencils bring a mischievous and indocent hue to the exhibition. The turbulent and transgressive little angels who speak out or show their fingers to the spectator remind us of the joy that arises from disorder, the creativity generated by chaos and especially the importance of not being serious.

Mind in the gutter

« L’esprit dans le caniveau », c’est le nom qu’a donné Dotmasters à cette exposition. Il évoque pour lui les intentions douteuses, les actions ambiguës, toutes ces choses peu recommandables et pourtant jubilatoires. Fidèle à l’essence vandale et provocatrice de l’art urbain, ce titre saisit l’état d’esprit de l’artiste, qui, jovial et lucide, s’amuse des tabous, des contradictions, des nouveaux dieux et de l’absurdité de nos modes de vie contemporains.

L’exposition propose plusieurs niveaux de lecture : on peut l’apprécier comme une expérience visuelle pop, décalée et impertinente et y lire une critique ironique de la société actuelle. Dotmasters y développe le concept de « déchets hauts de gamme » avec des des sculptures en laiton de sacs en papier chanel. Par cette réalisation, il prend acte, renforce et joue de l’ambiguïté entre marketing et œuvres d’art, entre pièce unique et biens jetables, entre valeur esthétique et production commerciale.

Second thème cher à l’artiste, des chérubins rebelles et effrontés peuplent les œuvres de Dotmasters. Réalisés à partir de photographies de ses nièces, de ses neveux et de leurs amis, ces pochoirs apportent une teinte espiègle et indocile à l’exposition. Les petits anges turbulents et transgressifs qui tirent la langue ou font des doigts d’honneur au spectateur nous rappelle la joie qui naît du désordre, la créativité qu’engendre le chaos et surtout l’importance de n’être pas sérieux.