EXHIBITION FROM JUNE 10TH TILL JULY 22ND, 2017

Kurar grew up in a furiously fast-changing world.
A natural inspiration for a work that takes a kind yet critical look at the failings of a society advancing too fast perhaps, or one dominated by increasingly strained social and political tensions.
Our daily life is rich. The stream of ever faster images, ever more intense events that have become part of everyday life and a globalization that now appears irreversible in every sense. A source of observation that Kurar dissects in meticulous work that evolves in parallel with our everyday existence.
It is because we have to know where we come from, in order to understand the present and guide our future, that Kurar’s aesthetics use the gentleness of images of a childhood at the start of the last century. This gentleness provides a powerful contrast to the crude images of a present social reality that would have been unimaginable 100 years ago.
Although the start of the 20th century was to change the world, its children could still preserve a certain innocence and freedom, and believe in their dreams for a better future.
Is it because our generation is subdued by the injustices we can no longer put right, or is it because the media force on us a narrower vision of a better future that Kumar felt the need to create Humanity?
Be that as it may, Humanity brings us contrasts that mirror freedoms given or taken away and the price(s) of life in a world that has implacably stamped its pace on us.
Kurar leaves us a clear field.
A field where we can reclaim our critical faculty, to understand what we were and to what we belong. He proposes that we reflect on where our society is heading, through images that are there not just to shake us up, but to make us understand that our freedom to dream exists, and from those dreams we can once again change our world.
The world of a century ago is no more. What world will it be in a hundred years?

“Humanity” is a direction, it is up to us to make it a path.

Cédric Godin

EXPOSITION DU 10 JUIN AU 22 JUILLET 2017

C’est dans un monde en mutation effrénée qu’à grandit Kurar.
Une inspiration naturelle dans un travail qui pose un regard doux et critique sur les travers d’une société qui avance peut-être trop vite et où un climat social et politique de plus en plus tendu s’impose.
Notre quotidien est riche… Le flux d’images de plus en plus rapide, la banalisation des évènements toujours plus accrue et une mondialisation qui en tous sens semble être devenue irréversible. Une source d’observation que dissèque Kurar dans un travail minutieux qui évolue en parallèle de notre quotidien.
C’est parce que nous devons savoir d’où nous venons pour comprendre le présent et orienter notre futur que l’esthétique de Kurar utilise la douceur des images d’une enfance du début du siècle dernier. Cette douceur contraste puissamment avec des images crues d’une réalité sociale actuelle qui aurait été inimaginable il y a 100 ans.
Même si le début de 20ème siècle allait changer le monde, ses enfants pouvaient préserver une certaine innocence et liberté et croire en leurs rêves d’un meilleur avenir…
Est-ce que c’est parce que notre génération est étouffée par des injustices sur lesquelles elle ne peut plus agir ou est-ce parce que les médias nous forcent à ne plus entrevoir assez d’espace pour rêver d’un futur meilleur qu’Humanity s’est imposé à Kurar ?
Quoi qu’il en soit, Humanity nous propose des contrastes qui mettent en miroir les libertés offertes ou supprimées et le(s) prix d’une vie dans un monde qui l’a implacablement soumise à son rythme.
Kurar nous laisse le champ…
Le champ pour retrouver notre esprit critique, pour comprendre ce que nous étions et ce à quoi nous appartenons. Il nous propose de réfléchir à la direction que prend notre société à travers des images qui ne veulent pas simplement nous bousculer mais qui nous font comprendre que notre liberté de rêver existe et que de ces rêves, nous pouvons à nouveau changer notre monde.
Le monde d’il y a un siècle n’est plus… Quel sera celui-ci dans cent ans…

« Humanity » est une direction, libre à nous d’en faire un chemin…

Cédric Godin