Memorandum is both a a record and a reminder for the future. It functions for me in this duality.

These portraits allow me to express a vision, a warning and a reminder. A reminder about consequence and about perseverance and strength. I came to Paris 5 weeks ago and made 57 photo portraits and filmed 10 video portraits. A catalog of sorts. I photographed friends and friends of friends. The selection of people was quite random and in no way curated. Every person photographed is in the exhibition. Each one is a collaboration between myself and the subject in which the subject is both exposed and simultaneously fictionalized. That is the collaboration. Taking what is inherent to the subject and also projecting what I am trying to convey regarding the future and possible outcomes.

Together we create portraits of people who don’t exist in a circumstance that has yet to occur. The portraits are an invitation to the viewer to find themselves or a part of themselves in these images. There are also an invitation to more ­closely examine the consequences of our current means.

On a personal level it is a record or document of a place and a time. The people I’ve met, my friends and Paris in 2018. This function will not be realized until some point in the future. A point at which my memories of this time fade, the conversations become harder to recall and the details evaporate. This will be my record, my mnemonic device.

A note to my future self.

MEMORANDUM est à la fois un enregistrement et un rappel pour l’avenir. Cela fonctionne pour moi dans cette dualité.

Ces portraits me permettent d’exprimer une vision, un avertissement et un rappel. Un rappel sur les conséquences et sur la persévérance et la force. Je suis venu à Paris il y a cinq semaines pour faire 57 portraits photo et 10 portraits vidéo. Une sorte de catalogue. J’ai photographié des amis et des amis d’amis. La sélection des personnes était assez aléatoire et nullement organisée. Chaque personne photographiée est dans l’exposition. Chacun est une collaboration entre moi et le sujet dans lequel le sujet est à la fois exposé et fictionnel. C’est la collaboration. Prendre ce qui est inhérent au sujet et projeter ce que j’essaie de transmettre concernant l’avenir et les résultats possibles.

Ensemble, nous créons des portraits de personnes qui n’existent pas dans des circonstances qui ne se sont pas encore produites. Les portraits invitent le spectateur à se retrouver ou à faire partie de lui-même dans ces images. Il existe également une invitation à examiner de plus près les conséquences de nos moyens actuels.

Sur le plan personnel, il s’agit d’un enregistrement ou d’un document d’un lieu et d’une heure. Les personnes que j’ai rencontrées, mes amis et Paris en 2018. Cette fonction ne sera réalisée que dans le futur. Un moment où mes souvenirs de cette époque s’estomperont, les conversations deviendront plus difficiles à retenir et les détails s’évaporerons. Ce sera mon disque, mon appareil mnémonique.

Une note à mon futur moi.